BSU fared well against solid competition this past weekend!


Throwers Lead Broncos' Title Count at Bronco Invitational

Chase Sexton and Will Lohman collected titles 

NAMPA, Idaho – The Boise State track and field program won five event titles in the Bronco Invitational on Saturday (Jan. 19) at the Jacksons Indoor Track in Nampa. Bronco men Will Lohman, Chase Sexton, Manoah Wesson and Justin Malnes each captured titles on the day, while Lauren Lucas earned the sole women’s title for the team. 
The Broncos fared well in a meet against NCAA Division I competitors Washington State, Nevada and Utah, as well as a handful of Division II, Division III and NAIA schools. 
Lohman and Sexton led a dominant day in the throwing events for Boise State. Lohman began the day with his third-straight weight throw title of the season with a mark of 56-7.50 (17.26m). Sexton added a throws title later in the day with his 55-2 (16.81) first-place effort in the shot put, his second win of the season. Lohman joined him to clinch the top-two spots, placing second in the shot put with a mark of 54-4.50 (16.57m). Fellow thrower Matt Post helped Lohman with a top-two finish in the weight throw, placing second with his throw of 50-8.25 (15.45m).
Wesson earned his third title of the season, but first in the 200-meters this year, tying his personal-best time of 21.60-seconds. Malnes notched a solid time of 8.03-seconds to win the 60-meter hurdles, his third win in the event this season. 
Paul Robertson also earned a top-three finish in the sprints, placing second in the 400-meters in a time of 49.54. Jeff Howard earned a runner-up title in the Mile with a time of 4:11.56, while Roderick Townsend rounded out the Broncos’ top-three finishes with a third-place finish in the long jump and a personal-best mark of 21-7.50 (6.59m). 
Lucas earned the only title for the Bronco women on Saturday, running to a 5:09.03 finish in the Mile. Teammate Taryn Treadway clocked a personal-best time of 5:12.57 to place third in the event. 
Taryn Campos and Heather Pilcher earned runner-up titles running 24.65-seconds in the 200-meters and jumping an indoor personal-best of 18-11.25 (5.77m) in the long jump, respectively. Kimberly Miller jumped 17-11.75 (5.48m) to place third in the event, while Tajanee Simmons also earned a top-three finish, running a time of 9.07-seconds in the 60-meter hurdles. 
Also earning top-eight finishes for the Bronco men, include: Jordin Andrade, 200-meters (4th, 22.12); Aaron Back, Mile (7th, 4:14.23); Karrie Butler, 60-meters (7th, 7.12); David Elliott, Mile (6th, 4:13.18); Tyler June, 400-meters (4th, 50.29); Drew O’donoghue-McDonald, Mile (8th, 4:14.80); Tyler Rackleff, 800-meters (7th; 1:55.79); Andy Robertson, 800-meters (5th, 1:55.30); Adam Ruggiero, Long Jump (5th, 20-11.75/6.39m) and high jump (tie 6th, 5-10.75/1.80m); Bret Scheve, 60-meters (6th, 7.11) and 60-meter hurdles (7th; 8.66); Nick Tatro, 800-meters (6th, 1:55.37); Barak Watson, Mile (5th, 4:12.84); and Manoah Wesson, 60-meters (5th, 7.02).
Also earning top-eight finishes for the Bronco women, include: Mackenzie Flannigan, 60-meters (4th, 7.71) and 200-meters (6th, 24.88); Kate Holman, 60-meter hurdles (7th, 9.35); Shannon Jacobs, 60-meters (6th, 7.85) and long jump (4th, 17-10.25/5.44m); Deb Johnson, Triple Jump (4th, 35-9.25/10.90m); Lauran Johnson, Long Jump (5th, 17-2/5.23m); Steffanie Jordan, 60-meters (7th, 7.87); Megan Kelley, 400-meters (5th, 58.41); Alexis Keyes, Long Jump (8th, 16-7/5.05m); Jamie Knapp, 800-meters (7th, 2:21.86); Rici Morrill, 800-meters (5th, 2:16.24); Marissa Opatz, 800-meters (8th, 2:24.43); Lacie Rasley, Shot Put (4th, 45-3.50/13.80m); Kady Stafford, Weight Throw (4th, 50-6.75/15.41m); Mattie Stanford, Mile (8th, 5:24.42); and Cara Strodel, Mile (6th, 5:22.72).
The Broncos will get set to compete in one week at the Jacksons/New Balance West Invitational held at the Jacksons Indoor Track in Nampa, Idaho, Friday and Saturday, Jan. 25 and 26. The meet, which is the fourth regular-season meet for the Broncos, is set to begin at 10:30 a.m. on Friday and 9:00 a.m. on Saturday.